Posted in Travel

Queenstown Marathon

Welcome to Queenstown, adventure capital of the world (and tourist capital of New Zealand)!  Thrill seekers, nature lovers, hipster coffee drinkers, and posh pub crawlers unite – it has something for everyone.  This is the second time I’ve been to the area, and both times have seemed far too short.

I always have to take a few pictures along the drive, as the journey is often as beautiful as the destination.  Below, Lake Pukaki.

IMG_5033

The reason for such a long drive for an unfortunately short weekend was, of course, the Queenstown International Marathon.  My first New Zealand race, and my second full marathon.  Check-in was busy but exciting!

IMG_5036

(representing O-H…)

IMG_5043

Sincere apologies, but I did NOT stop along the race to take pictures  (although I was a tad late and got stuck in the back of the pack with the selfie-takers and walk-after-a-half-milers and probably would have had the time)! I’m sure you wouldn’t be surprised at how gorgeous the route was though – I am seriously ruined for running in the Midwest.  Or even on roads in general.  There were a few tough hills, but I felt prepared.  In fact, I blew away my first marathon time, and even my goal time, finishing at 4:06:26.    IMG_5050 After a long shower and large pizza, my #1 Queenstown desire was fulfilled: Patagonia ice cream.  And we made some very nice duck friends…so nice that a few groups of people stopped to take pictures of how cozy the ducks were making themselves so us!  IMG_5057 IMG_5067

And just a few photos walking around near town:

IMG_5056IMG_5070 IMG_5081 IMG_5082 IMG_5084 IMG_5100 IMG_5102

IMG_5111

Not a cheap race or easy drive, but I have a sneaky suspicion that I’ll be hooked for next year as well…hopefully with a few more days padded in to relax, eat ice cream, hike, and maybe indulge in some adventure activities…did someone say bungee jumping?? 😉

4 thoughts on “Queenstown Marathon

  1. Really happy you had a good race and fun time. Love the pix. And the ducks! And that is some real kayaking-makes my lake seem so tame!

Leave a Reply

