Posted in Musings

When Scientists Go Surfing

My adviser, a Human Factors Psychologist and surfing enthusiast, sent around this clip yesterday.  I thought it would be a pretty awesome way of sharing the basic type of science that I’m into (since that’s one the most asked and also one of my least favorite questions to answer).  Basically, we use physiological data – brain waves, cerebral blood flow and oxygenation, cardiac behavior, galvanic skin response, eye tracking, etc. –  to look at the body’s physical and cognitive state, and use this information to help improve performance on the task of interest.  I probably won’t be studying surfers any time soon, but I thought it was certainly appropriate since I just went for the first time!

Leave a Reply

