Posted in Musings

Merry Christmas

Another major holiday away from home.  I got off on the wrong foot by missing Christmas Eve Mass – apparently you have to be more than 30 minutes early if you want to fit in the church!  But I had a lovely Christmas lunch with my flatmate’s family, and her young niece and nephew came by our house later on as well to open more presents.  While I was thinking about a white Christmas, wood burning fire, hot chocolate, and cozy blankets, the kids were outside in the sun playing on their new slip ‘n slide.  Such a strange concept.

But don’t get me wrong, it has been nice to have such lovely weather the week of Christmas.  I’ve been going to the park, getting sun, running around, and enjoying the outdoors quite a bit.  I also had a nice flat-date to see Christmas lights – they’re not as common here, but there is one remarkable house about 20 minutes away.  I can’t remember ever being outside looking at Christmas lights and not freezing to death!

IMG_2481 

IMG_2502

I particularly liked the skiing pig 🙂

IMG_2463 IMG_2498

IMG_2501

And of course, there’s been lots of Christmas music, movies, and baking.

IMG_2521IMG_2522IMG_2523IMG_2533

 

These dancers were at the botanical gardens a few days before Christmas…not really sure what the group was, but it was entertaining to say the least.

IMG_2392 IMG_2387

And my very own miniature Christmas tree!

IMG_2427

 

I really miss the Christmas traditions at home, especially the time with family and friends, but I’d say Christmas is still the most wonderful time of the year.  I just hope to be home for the next one!

Leave a Reply

