Posted in Musings

Thanksgiving

As I trudge through my first Thanksgiving away from home, I thought it would be particularly appropriate to count my blessings.  In no particular order (and certainly not a fully inclusive list):

For the fantastic group of people here that have gone out of their way to make me feel at home.  I’ve been invited to so many dinners and excursions, and I’d probably be a mess if not for all the active kindness.  I actually got to enjoy a Kiwi style Thanksgiving dinner last week, which was an incredible lift.  Even if they made chicken.

For my education and the incredible opportunities that I’ve been given around every corner in life, particularly the one that brought me here: even if it keeps me from the people I love most, I feel incredibly blessed for the chance to study while commencing my dream of world travel.  I think something amazing might come of this.

For the incredible guy that puts up with my silly rants, my overabundance of emotions, and my crazy whim to move across the world. He pushes me to be the best version of myself and is constantly reminding me to seek the good.

DSC_0293 

For this remarkable group of girls that I’m utterly obsessed with.  They probably get sick of my constant adoration, but they are my soulmates, my support system, my guts, my spark, my backbone, and my strength.  I don’t know where I’d be without them, and I’m glad I’ll never have to find out.

Xmas

For all friends, old and new, near and far.  I’m incredibly sad to miss out on daily life with you – from the lows and mundane, to the highs of engagements and weddings.  I truly wish I could be around more, but love isn’t diminished by distance.

11112011034 Hugs

IMG_3976 IMG_1606

For my animals.  I’m going crazy without them.  I miss everything from purrs, puppy cuddles, and bareback romps in the park, to shoveling manure (it’s cathartic) and giving vinegar baths to the ones that get skunked (just kidding.  I don’t miss this part).

IMG_1321 Bert11202012145 04082012056

For my family.  Loving and supportive is an absolute understatement.  There aren’t words to describe what they mean to me.

Hug DSC_0043 

IMG_0444 MMK 

Family041

For the Lorelai to my Rory and Lucy to my Ethel, pretty much the best person ever.  Thanks for the sense of adventure, love of animals and the outdoors, addiction to coffee, ridiculous over-sensitivity, sportiness, and zest for life (she’ll probably hate me for posting this picture, but if that’s not authentic joy, I don’t know what is).  Copper boom.  

04062012054

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. Blessings and thanks for this endearing, funny, lovely and loving, adventuresome, smart, capable, beautiful, and thankful daughter. One who never fails to give all those around her credit and love for her ‘being’. Thanks to her supportive friends and family, New NZ friends (not just the Kiwi’s, but the Germans, S. Africans, English, and other NZ transplants) and all the other incredible people adding much to her life. Live, laugh, love. Be kind to you four legged friends. Copper boom, Rory. 💕Loralei. 💘 Lucy. CHOP.

Leave a Reply

