Posted in Musings

Ramblings of the Day

As I get into the swing of things with my studies (I think I’m finally on the swing, but still not actually swinging), I’m remembering how difficult it is to be indoors, sitting all day, and staring at a computer screen. I’m interested in my topic, but I keep getting distracted by everything. How did I ever get anything done before?

  1. Dear Microsoft Word, I have spelled maneuver, armor, defense, and behavior correctly thank you very much (I guess I’ll spend ten minutes changing language settings, closing all my documents, bookmarking all my tabs, and restarting my computer).
  2. It is a glorious day. I’m in New Zealand, it is 75 degrees and sunny, and the trees outside my window are swaying in the breeze mocking me (I guess I’ll stare blankly out the window for a while).
  3. It’s Friday. Enough said.
  4. I’m out of coffee. I should probably go get more. Perhaps I need something stronger. Like a mocha. Or a bucket of ice water over my head.
  5. I wonder what I’m going to do this weekend.
  6. I wonder if the student library has any good American movies.
  7. I wonder what I’m going to make for dinner. I could go for some pizza. How much would a delivery charge be from the States? I wonder if I could effectively make a homemade pizza in the microwave…
  8. I think I’m hungry now actually.
  9. Is that an earthquake or extremely loud music? It’s usually a toss-up around these parts…
  10. Why are the undergraduates drunk and costumed? (My officemate informed me that it’s the last day of term, so they party it up to a ridiculous extent all day weekend).
  11. Have I checked my email in the last 20 minutes? No? Better check again…
  12. What should I do at the gym today? Should I even go to the gym? It’s so nice I should probably run outside. But if I go home after work I will probably not actually make myself run…
  13. My playlist ended. I need to make some new ones.
  14. Oh yeah…I make my own schedule. Productivity is on me, and if I don’t want to be here I don’t have to be. How about I try to make myself focus for a few more hours and leave…
  15. Back to work. Sort of.
Leave a Reply

